Icosahedron Pendant Light

geometric light

SCHOOL OF DESIGN DEGREE SHOW: ‘KAPOW’ 2016

Drawn to the fascinating properties of the Platonic Solids and their potential aesthetical dominance in art and design, I created a pendant light that would hang in my degree show in my mock-up interior space. The light is created from copper pipe and assembled into the shape of an icosahedron – my favourite and also the most structurally complicated of the Platonic Solids. I love the industrial look of the metallic material, and together with the three-dimensional geometric form creates what I think to be a trendy and contemporary design object.

Leave a Reply

